10 - 11 March 2023

MACLAS 2023

https://maclas2023.exordo.com

Dear conference participants:

The Executive Committee would like to draw your attention to the many prizes offered by MACLAS. Please see the list below and consider submitting to any relevant prizes by emailing the relevant Chair.

<u>Submit your manuscript or proposal for a MACLAS prize.</u>

MACLAS offers several prizes to faculty and students for conference papers, publications, and travel. If you want to be considered for a prize, please send your manuscript, proposal, or questions to the committee chair. Submissions are due by February 17.

The Harold Eugene Davis Prize: The Davis Prize is awarded each year for best book chapter or article published in the previous two years by a member in good standing for the past two years.

This chair position for this prize is open. Send your manuscript to interim chair Brian Potter at potter@tcnj.edu

The Juan Espadas Prize. The Juan Espadas Prize is given for the best paper submitted to the MACLAS 2022 conference (last year's conference) by an undergraduate student. Any undergraduate students presenting at this year's upcoming conference will be eligible for next year's prize after they present.

Jason Bartles, chair: jbartles@wcupa.edu

The Władysław Maryan Froelich Research Grant. The Władysław Maryan Froelich Research Grant enables recipients to access special research materials.

Mirna Trauger, chair: mirnatrauger@muhlenberg.edu

The John D. Martz III Prize: The John D. Martz III Prize is given for the best graduate student paper.

Gonzalo Aguiar Malosetti, interim chair: gonzalo.aguiar@oswego.edu

The Judy McInnis Distinguished Service Award: The Judy McInnis Distinguished Service Award is granted in recognition of dedicated service to MACLAS.

Gloria B. Clark, chair: gbc3@psu.edu

The James Street Prize: This prize is awarded to the author of the best peer-reviewed article published in MARLAS.

Alistair Hattingh, chair: hattingh@muskingum.edu

The Christina Turner Graduate Student Travel Award: This award helps graduate students attend the annual conference.

Amanda M. Frantz-Mamani, chair: frantzmamani@pennwest.edu

The Arthur P. Whitaker Prize The Arthur P. Whitaker Prize is awarded to the author of the best book published in the past year.

Patricia Rodríguez, chair: prodriguez@ithaca.edu